atans1

Thaipusam: “stop this brutality”?

In Holidays and Festivals on 15/01/2011 at 6:46 am

I did a double take when I saw this pix on ToC’s front page and below it “We must stop this brutality,” says Human Rights Lawyer.

I tot “Oh no. Not another attack on Thaipusam”.

I clicked the story and it turned out that the lawyer meant the recent curbs on the Thaipusam procession, not the body piecing spikes.

I must admit I shudder and feel ill whenever I see pixs of khavadi carrying devotees. They may not feel the pain, but I do.

But no, I do not want the practice to stop. It’s the devotees’ religion, not mine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

