atans1

Amos in the Land of the Free

In Uncategorized on 30/12/2016 at 9:07 am

Or “Even anti-PAP nuts believe that there’s no free lunch”

An unusually sane article (from a cybernut) prompted this comment on Facebook

“Asking for free lawyer, free accomodation, free everything. I think he misunderstood “The Land of the Free”

It got this response:

Real sense of entitlement. Like a PAP minister or like hard core anti-PAP grumbler.

Article in question:

http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2016/12/the-detention-of-singaporean-amos-yee.html

A real S’porean, this nut. No free service, must pay and pay. Harry would be proud of him even if he hates Harry.

Amos Yee had asked me to represent him “pro bono” or free of charge. In my opinion, he did not appear to be lacking in funds since he himself had stated in social media that he was making a lot of money through his videos. Secondly he has his parents who live with him and are fully able to pay for his expenses. I quoted him my normal asylum fee of US$3500.00 but he refused. After that I did not have further communication with him.

Recently a US based Singaporean activist Melissa Chen contacted me. She said she was trying to help Amos Yee and had arranged some lawyers to help him free of charge. She was contacting me probably from Chicago. She asked me if I could arrange accommodation for him free of charge. I told her that I cannot and even if I could I will not. After all he is well able to pay for his accommodation under his circumstances and shouldn’t be asking things free.

And

Update 12/28/2016. I have been getting readers who write asking for advice on asylum and national service. If you want advice please write to my Email nair.gopalan@yahoo.com or call me at (510) 491 8525 California time. Also note, I do not provide free legal advice.

  1. Singapore cyber loonies version of freedom = free of charge.

    Having said that, it also says a lot of this Gopalan guy that he would refuse to help a fellow dissident. But of course, he’s also a Singapore cyber loony who wants things on the cheap for himself.

    This is why also so many alternative sites here struggle with funding.

    Bunch of good for nothings, all the KPKB experts.

  2. is melissa chen is a very good and close friend of annabel chong/grace quek ?

Leave a Reply

