atans1

In comparing Amos to JBJ, does s/o JBJ have a point?

In Uncategorized on 30/03/2017 at 12:57 pm

As a Facebook acquaintance said

Quite weird to see KJ equating Amos’s “persecution” with JBJ’s….kinda insulting to the memory of his father…

After all one was a lion of a man, the other a foul mouth brat. Ok both were full of themselves and LKY and the PAPpies would agree that both were nutty weirdos and subversives.

Still that doesn’t mean that Amos is like JBJ.

This is what KJ actually said (it’s a longish extract from a really long post (https://kenjeyaretnam.com/2017/03/26/my-first-hand-experience-of-amos-yees-asylum-hearing/) which is really worth a read.

My Personal Motivation

… there was something about Yee’s case in particular that struck a chord with me. Maybe it is because I also had a 16 year old son and I used to be a 16 year old boy myself. It was hard to see a child maltreated so horribly. Mostly though it was that his plight and the persecution he suffered, the way the Gvernment was unwilling to tolerate even a sliver of dissent and came down hard with spurious charges reminded me of the way they could not tolerate my father being in parliament. Again the vindictive and personal nature of the persecution stemming from anger at criticism of LKY reminded me of LKY’s vow to see JBJ on bended knee. Of course Amos Yee’s stubborn refusal to be bowed, to bend that knee in front of the altar of LKY, reinforced the link to JBJ in my mind.

I had already laughed my head off when Yee’s lawyer had said by video link that he was sure Amos would be grateful for my efforts. “No he won’t”, I replied when I stopped laughing. There is no point helping Amos if you are doing it for thanks or gratitude. Do I regret helping him? No, I am also elated but at the same time saddened that Amos had to flee to have a chance at a life and I am aware of how hard life is for an exile or a refugee. I do feel though that the judgement has vindicated my father and the political persecution he suffered all cleverly packaged and disguised as either civil suits brought by private persons or even trumped up fake charges of fraud. Even now Singapore refers to my father’s “criminal” conviction even though that conviction was found to be a grievous miscarriage of justice and a non-existent offence and was overturned by a higher court. Amos Yee like JBJ will forever be branded a criminal in his home country.

What do you think? Is s/o JBJ wrong in comparing dad to Amos? Or does he have a point?

  1. They should just let the due process take its course lah. I mean even if the judge took very long on Amos case, she granted him asylum in the end what. Ok, not a done deal because pending an appeal from Dept of Homeland Security, but its the US system right? If you are so ang moh tua kee and have so much faith in the US system that you want to go there, then suffer a bit, be patient, and let it work its course. It may give you what you want in the end what? And does he think he’s the only case pending?

    Trouble with these kind of people is they cannot live properly without stirring up things. The world must revolve around their AMTK liberal ideologies. The moment its a bit slow, must agitate, must make noise.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.